Perl Meister Greengard Prize

2013 Pearl Meister Greengard Prize 

Huda Zoghbi, M.D.

The 2013 Pearl Meister Greengard Prize will be awarded to Huda Zoghbi, M.D., pioneering neuroscientist from Baylor College of Medicine.  She will be presented the Prize on the evening of Thursday December 5, 2013 by Ursula von Rydingsvard, the famed sculptor and Greengard Prize co-founder.

Dr. Zoghbi is a pediatrician and neurobiologist whose work on the genetic underpinnings of two rare neurodegenerative diseases—Rett Syndrome, a form of autism, and spinocerebellar ataxia Type 1, a progressive and crippling movement disorder—is significantly advancing the understanding of more common conditions including Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s. She is a professor in the Departments of Pediatrics, Molecular and Human Genetics, Neurology and Neuroscience at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas; director of the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Texas Children’s Hospital and an investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

The Pearl Meister Greengard Prize, awarded annually by The Rockefeller University, was established by Dr. Paul Greengard, the University’s Vincent Astor Professor, and his wife, the sculptor Ursula von Rydingsvard. Dr. Greengard donated his monetary share of the 2000 Nobel Prize in Medicine to Rockefeller and, in partnership with generous supporters of the University, created this major international prize. Named in memory of Dr. Greengard’s mother, who died giving birth to him, the Pearl Meister Greengard Prize provides recognition of the accomplishments of women in science.

For more information about the ceremony, please click here.

Recent News

December 6, 2013

The Wall Street Journal logo

Pearl Meister Greengard Prize Winner Followed a Gut Feeling for 16 Years

Pediatric neurologist and neuroscientist Huda Y. Zoghbi won Rockefeller University's 10th annual Pearl Meister Greengard Prize, which on Thursday night she attributed in part to following "a gut feeling." For 16 years, she tracked down a gene mutation that causes Rett Syndrome, a form of autism that only affects girls. None of her male colleagues supported her hunch that Rett Syndrome could be a genetic disorder. (read more)

December 4, 2013

HuffPost Science logo

The Pearl Meister Greengard Prize: Praising Pioneers in Biomedical Research

There is nothing particularly remarkable about a woman doing science. Any person -- man or woman -- who shows an intellectual curiosity combined with a strong work ethic, good decision making, and a little bit of luck can be successful in science. What is remarkable, however, is the severe underrepresentation of women in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) fields. And for the few women who pursue these career endeavors, their achievements, however great, often go unsung. (read more)