The Pearl Meister Greengard Prize

Media Alert

2013 Pearl Meister Greengard Prize to honor Huda Y. Zogbhi, pioneering neuroscientist
Special guest speaker Ursula von Rydingsvard, Brooklyn sculptor and Greengard Prize Co-founder, to present the prize 


Thursday, December 5, 2013
Caspary Auditorium
The Rockefeller University
1230 York Avenue at 66th Street
6:30 p.m.       Prize Ceremony
7:30 p.m.       Reception


The Rockefeller University will host the Tenth Annual Pearl Meister Greengard Prize on Thursday, December 5. The 2013 recipient will be Huda Zoghbi, M.D., who, along with her collaborators, has unraveled the genetic underpinnings of a number of devastating neurological disorders, including Rett syndrome and spinocerebellar ataxia type 1. Their discoveries have provided new ways of thinking about more common neurological disorders, including autism, intellectual disability, and Parkinson's disease, and could lead to better treatments for such conditions.

Dr. Zoghbi will be presented the prize by Ursula von Rydingsvard, a scupltor who has been working in Brooklyn for the past 30 years. Her work is included in numerous permanent collections, including the Metropolitan Museum, The Museum of Modern Art, Storm King Art Center and the Museum of Fine Arts Boston. In September 2013, her work “Ona” was permanently installed at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn.


The Pearl Meister Greengard Prize, awarded annually by The Rockefeller University, was established by Dr. Paul Greengard, the University’s Vincent Astor Professor, and his wife, the sculptor Ursula von Rydingsvard.  Dr. Greengard donated his monetary share of the 2000 Nobel Prize in Medicine to Rockefeller and, in partnership with generous supporters of the University, created this major international prize. Named in memory of Dr. Greengard’s mother, who died giving birth to him, the Pearl Meister Greengard Prize provides recognition of the accomplishments of women in science.


Founded in 1901, The Rockefeller University is a world-renowned center for biomedical research. Its 73 independent laboratories are contributing to the understanding and treatment of cancer, heart disease, neurological and psychiatric conditions, infections and autoimmune disorders, and many other health concerns.  Thirty-four Rockefeller scientists are members of the National Academy of Sciences.  Twenty-four researchers associated with the University throughout its history have been awarded the Nobel Prize


Media interested in covering the Pearl Meister Greengard Prize or seeking footage should contact Hallie Kapner at 917-699-0014 or


For coverage of the ceremony, connect with the Greengard Prize on Facebook, YouTube, and Twitter #greengardprize.

RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube